5 Fascinating National Parks in Australia 

Australia is the largest country in Oceania and the world’s sixth-largest country by total area and has some beautiful national parks.

The country is generally a very safe and welcoming place to live and study, consistently ranking among the safest countries in the world.

Australia is famous for its natural wonders and wide-open spaces, its beaches, deserts, bush, and Outback. Australia is one of the world’s most highly urbanized countries as it is well known for the attractions and we will be taking a look at some of its beautiful national parks. 

Let’s take you through just five of the fascinating national parks in this beautiful country.

1. Port Campbell National Park

The Port Campbell National Park is a national park in the southwestern district of Victoria,  Australia. The 1,750-hectare national park is situated approximately 190 kilometers southwest of Melbourne and approximately 10 kilometers east of Warrnambool. It was opened in 1964.  

2. Nambung National Park 

Nambung National Park is a national park in the Wheatbelt region of Western Australia, 200  km northwest of Perth, Australia, and 17 km south of the small coastal town of Cervantes.  The park contains the Pinnacles Desert which is an area with thousands of limestone formations called pinnacles. It was established in 1994. 

3. Daintree National Park 

The Daintree rainforest is a national park in Far North Queensland, Australia, 1,757 km northwest of Brisbane and 100 km northwest of Cairns. It was founded in 1981 and is part of the Wet Tropics of Queensland. In 1988 it became a World Heritage Site. 

4. Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair NP 

Located at the southern end of the Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, it forms part of Tasmania’s Wilderness World Heritage Area. At 1,545 meters above sea level, it is the sixth highest mountain in Tasmania. 

5. Kosciuszko National Park 

The Kosciuszko National Park is a 6,900-square-kilometre national park and contains mainland  Australia’s highest peak, Mount Kosciuszko, for which it is named, and Cabramurra the highest town in Australia. Its borders contain a mix of rugged mountains and wilderness,  characterized by an alpine climate, which makes it popular with recreational skiers and bushwalkers. The park is located in the southeastern corner of New South Wales, 354 km  southwest of Sydney, and is contiguous with the Alpine National Park in Victoria to the south,  and the Namadgi National Park in the Australian Capital Territory to the northeast. The larger  towns of Cooma, Tumut, and Jindabyne lie just outside and service the park. The waters of  the Snowy River, the Murray River, and the Gungarlin River all rise in this park.  

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park 

Uluṟu-Kata Tjuṯa National Park is a protected area in the Northern Territory of Australia. The  park is home to both Uluru and Kata Tjuta. It is located 1,943 kilometers south of Darwin by  road and 440 kilometers southwest of Alice Springs along with the Stuart and Lasseter  Highways. The park covers 1,326 square kilometers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.